Five Question Friday: October 5, 2012

I really tried to complete this post on Friday but as you can see, it did not happen.  This morning it occurred to me that the reason I struggled with this post is that the questions were not relevant in my life. For instance, question one refers to album/cd/downloads that I am embarrassed to admit I have. To be honest, I have very few of those things. I spend as much time out-of-doors as possible, and the time I do find myself listening/watching anything that is ‘wired’ has to do with blogging or coursework. So I’m ‘out of the loop on that question.

Another question that gave me problems was about purchasing Halloween candy. We don’t do Halloween in this household. I know it is a favorite American custom to hand out candy to little goblins and princesses who come knocking at one’s door on All Hallows Eve, but that is not our holiday nor is it our custom. I questioned what holiday we do observe that might be comparable, but the only thing I could think of was Purim, a fun holiday that takes place in early spring. In all honesty however, other than dressing in costumes, there is no similarity between Halloween and Purim.

The question about which chores I hate the most and why was too broad for me to answer. I do not like chores. Period. I do what must be done to keep the health department at bay, but life with all its challenges, adventures and mystique is too grand to fill with chores. Yes, I clean house but I’m never immaculate. Yes, I do yard work but I do that out of love and never consider it a chore. Yes, I have to buckle down and devote time to coursework (quite a bit of time, actually) but I ALWAYS make time to take walks in the woods, photograph frogs and squirrels and birds and such. Chores are so far down on my list of likes and dislikes that I find them hard to blog about.

Family closets? Please clarify. Coat closet, linen closet, storage closet ~ yes. Individual closets ~ yes. Family closet ~ ?.

And finally, about my spouse; one thing he does better than me? Only one???? We are so different this is another hard one to answer. He is a scientist, a nuclear physicist and engineer. I am definitely the artist/social conscience/social justice/etc. person in this relationship. We make an excellent couple. When it comes to numbers and matters of science, he runs circles around me. When it comes to empathic understanding and dealing with matters of human nature, I excel. We are both awed by the wonder , intricacy, majesty and magic of nature.

As you can see here, I struggled with this week’s questions but somehow managed to answer them in this explanation of why I did not answer in a timely manner. Following are the actual questions. What do you think? Feel free to respond with your own answers. Enjoy! 🙂

1. What album/cd/download are you embarrassed to admit you have?

2. What’s the one thing your spouse does better than you?

3. When do you start buying Halloween Candy?

4. Family closets – Yay or nay?

5. Which home/cleaning chore do you hate the most? Why?

4 thoughts on “Five Question Friday: October 5, 2012

  1. I would have struggled with those questions, also. I am so with you on the housework chores list and its location!

Leave a comment