Orchids! Orchids! and then there were more Orchids!

What a gorgeous day it was! I was on break from classes, the sun was shining bright, the temperature was almost balmy. It was a great day to hop a bus into Case Western Reserve, wander a bit through gardens, and finally pay a visit to the Cleveland Botanical Garden to see Orchid Mania that is in its last week here. If it is possible to overdose on flowers and beauty, I sure did! The problem I face now is how to choose which of  hundreds of photos to share with you. (Don’t worry, I’ll only give you a sampling!)

I hope you enjoy the following slide show.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks for stopping by. Hope you enjoyed the show. :-)

67 thoughts on “Orchids! Orchids! and then there were more Orchids!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Robin. It was a glorious day. I’m glad you like the slide show. The photos are pre-processed! I’m going to have fun for days (weeks?) to come playing with the many photos that I shot yesterday. Again, thanks for stopping by. Have a wonderful day! :-)

  1. Beautiful slide show. I also take tons of pictures, than can’t decide which to use. I like all your choices. Also was surprised to see the frog, bird, butterfly and beautiful landscapes and fountians. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • Thanks Francine. I didn’t even try to figure out which ones were the best! There were too many to choose from so I just grabbed a few here and there that sort of represented the sights of the day. It will take weeks of culling and processing to determine which shots were the best, but I couldn’t wait to share my day with y’all! It was glorious. :-) Thank you so much for stopping by.

  2. What a refreshing spring moment to see your photos.

    I used to have my own orchid growing on my windowsill. It did well for many years, but finally died. I’ve tried two or three others since and have never been able to keep any of them thriving.

    • Thank you Jamie. It was pretty amazing being there. The day was glorious and this is just a tip of the iceberg. Not even the best shots . . . I haven’t done any processing yet so I don’t even know what the best shots are! But I couldn’t wait to share. Glad you enjoyed this. :-)

  3. Stunning header Cecelia! Lovely garden stroll this morning. The fountains! All the beautiful blooms. A walk through a Botanical Garden can put a spring in your step. What kind of bird Cecelia? At first I thought Indigo Bunting.

    • So glad you enjoyed the “show.” As to the bird, I have absolutely no idea what it is. I’ve never seen one before. And this photo is not edited. The bird is really that blue! It was in the Cloud Garden Costa Rica in the glass house at the Botanical Garden so I figure it is from a tropical climate. If anyone knows, feel free to share! :-)

  4. Incredible photos, Ms. F! So nice!
    Our botanical gardens must be in sync…
    I’m fairly certain it’s the last week of the Orchid Show here, too! Orchids must be something in the air (which is always welcome)! :)

    • Thanks Barbara. I think the green creature is an iguana, but I’m not sure. It startled me when I realized there was a creature hanging over my head! Thanks for stopping by. :-)

    • It is highly unusual to be this far into spring yet. But I’m not complaining. The colors are beautiful and it is nice to keep the windows open, hear the birds chirping, and watch the world come to life! Thanks for stopping by. :-)

  5. Mother Nature is so beautiful in all her glory..absolutely fantastic Cecelia. I am glad that you enjoyed your walk in the park because I certainly enjoyed it with u

  6. It really beautiful Cecelia. I like your slide show. Here in Indonesia we have a lot of orchid as well. Have you ever heard about Indonesia my country? You should visit our country someday and take the pictures of Indonesian Orchid too.
    Have a wonderful day………………

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, Sparliah. Yes, I’ve heard of Indonesia and someday I would love to visit. I’m sure there are many beautiful flowers there. Have a fantastic day. :-)

    • Thanks CG! Glad you found a few that you like! ;-) I am sooooo into flowers and fauna it’s pathetic, so springtime is always a heady time for me. I checked out your link and enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by.

  7. Fantastic slide show! It looks heavenly there! Here, it’s still drab ..brownish-grey, but the temperature is out of this world! Warmer than Daytona Bch, Fla and Canun, Mexico! People out on the beach… We’ll get flurries tomorrow, though..

    After watching this, I’m really looking forward to seeing flowers again… Wonderful!

    • Oh, I hope you get flowers soon! This is unseasonably warm for us, and spring is arriving about four weeks earlier than usual. I’m not complaining though. Thanks for stopping by. :-)

  8. Pingback: Nuttin But Orchids Orchids Orchids! | Inspired Vision

  9. Pingback: Arranged « Life in the Bogs

Leave a Reply

