The Magnificent and Mighty Great Falls of the Potomac

As many of you who read my blog know, Richard and I love to take strolls through nature, or hike along trails.  Everywhere we have lived, we find special places where we can go to clear our minds, soak in the natural world, and in general renew our spirits.  In Virginia we have found a place about thirty minutes from our abode: The Great Falls National Park. I shot the following photos earlier this week.  Enjoy.

We made several stops on the way back home, too.  Below are some more gentle aspects of the natural world!

Today we will once again venture out to enjoy earth’s pleasures.  I hope you, too, can find places of relaxation, comfort and renewal. Feel free to leave your comments!

 

32 thoughts on “The Magnificent and Mighty Great Falls of the Potomac

  1. Cecelia the flowers are very pretty. The water shots are stunning. I am just so drawn to river water, lake water, ocean water and yes even pond water. “If you are lucky enough to live by the water, you are lucky enough.” I don’t know where the credit goes for this quote. I hope I am not repeating myself but my husband and I lived in Northern Virginia for 4 years starting in 1989 while he was assigned to DC. It was an experience. Virginia is a lovely state and we lived 6 minutes from the Potomac and we boated almost everyday. A different way to see the capital’s monuments! I had a dinner with wine packed almost every night when he walked in the door from the dreaded commute. I gather you have moved frequently.

    • Commuting here is horrendous. And, yes, we move frequently. I am enjoying VA but I don’t know how much longer it will last. Sounds like y’all enjoyed the water quite a bit! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  2. Gerry and I do the same thing. We often say to each other how lucky we are to have all this beauty so easily accessible. Your photos are awesome … what a great place!

  3. I love waterfalls! Hiking to the numerous waterfalls all along the North Shore of Lake Superior is my favorite place to go, I wish I lived closer to it. You are very fortunate to have such a beautiful place so close to home. Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures.

    • Thank you for stopping by and for leaving a comment. Much appreciated. As much as we love to travel (even into Canada :-) ) maybe we will make it to the North Shore of Lake Superior some day. We have visited all the Great Lakes, some from both sides of the border, but never northern shores of Superior. . . yet! Have a great day.

    • Thanks ramoncito. Great Falls is a wonderful place. We have been fortunate to find great hiking and camping areas near us wherever we have lived, although most places are not so grand and rugged as this! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

